you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Diet

Spreading the Word…


I have been really touch and very honored to be ask to talk about My Story and the OMS program by the MS society and Teva Pharmaceuticals.  Deep down all I really want to do is create Hope for those living with or newly diagnosed with MS.

hope3It means so much to me because I have been there, I have been through the tough times, the despair, the pain, the uncertainty.  And now it is like a ray of sunshine, things are coming together.  I feel really well, ok so I can’t run or walk a distance but I am happy.  I feel like my MS progression has stopped and that I am on the road to recovery. I can’t remember when I last fell over my dropped foot, my knees are scab and bruise free!  I am going to start counting the days 🙂

One of the things that the OMS program recommends is keeping a diary so that you can track the changes, I have tried over the years but probably not as diligently as I should.  I am going to get better at it.

On Saturday 25th Oct, the MS society and I ran a morning around the OMS Program, we wanted to give people the opportunity to learn more about the OMS program and why it works, the evidence is overwhelming.  The feedback was very positive with large number of people wanting to know more about retreats, when they would be coming to Ireland.  I will keep you posted on when I hear more.

On Saturday 22nd Nov, I will be telling my story for Teva Pharmacueticals and I can’t wait.  Yes it is nerve wrecking but I don’t see it about me.  It is about the bigger picture, people with MS, making friends, supporting each other and having hope.

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Spreading the Word…

  1. I think it’s great that you are talking at these events! It is frustrating that OMS is so over-shadowed by ‘mainstream’ medicine, but every little helps! Good luck.

    Posted by rachelhogg | November 19, 2014, 5:22 pm
    • Thanks Rachel. I had my 2nd talk last week and it was refreshing when the dietitian started talking about Swank and how important a low saturated FAT diet (with Omega 3) is to us. Never thought I would here this 🙂 She had never heard of OMS but I pointed her in the right direction and she is excited to hear more.

      Posted by msinthecity | November 26, 2014, 10:05 am
  2. It’s great that there are champions such as yourself spreading the word! I’ve been following OMS since diagnosis 8 years ago. It’s not easy when you are faced with scepticism sometimes but it’s all about being informed and making choices, and having support from people like you who are living it every day is invaluable. Keep up the fabulous work!

    Posted by Carrie Philliskirk | November 14, 2014, 6:08 am
  3. Best of luck on the day and thanks for spreading the word about the OMS program.

    Posted by Christine | November 13, 2014, 2:56 pm

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

