you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Diet, Family & Friends, Foot Drop, Happiness, Image, MS Symptoms, Multiple Sclerosis, Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis

A year on from OMS day, Brighton, Jul 13


I am so happy, I am so so happy. I feel really good and I believe that things are finally coming together for me.

Don’t get me wrong I still can’t run or walk miles but I just feel better. My Dad even commented on it, he said that I was moving great.

It is a year since Brighton when I met Prof Jelinek and listened to his inspiring words. I was so inspired that I decided I would go to Australia for an OMS retreat, I didn’t know how I would pay for it but I was going. Now it is Jul 14 and I have made it, I have been to Australia, Portugal and Canada. I am seeing a big difference in how I walk, I am straighter and I walk better for longer. Jul Walking

I am now more religious in how I follow the program, I haven’t had meat in over a year and don’t miss it. My weakness is not getting enough veg (OMS is a whole food plant-based diet) but I have started making home-made soup for work and that is giving me a lot more, at least 5 portions at lunch time. I am also cutting down on sugar and gluten, these seem to be helping as well. As George would say I am setting my bar a little bit higher. I CAN do it..

I can’t say that I am perfect as last night I did trip and cut my knees, that hasn’t happened for months but I had been to the gym followed by a full days work, helped at the family home and brought my sister to the train. So I also had a 2nd lesson, just because you feel good doesn’t mean that you push it to hard. A lot of us with MS are guilty of this. You really have to be patient, it is not my best trait but it is one that MS is teaching me. For me, I want it to be 2 steps forward (that can result in 1 step back) when in reality it should be done slowly once step at a time.

Jul Walking2

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

6 thoughts on “A year on from OMS day, Brighton, Jul 13

  1. So nice to hear the diet is working well for you Nicola. I am considering changing to it myself. My legs are relatively OK but I could do with more veg. Am a vegetarian though, so at least I’m halfway 😀

    Posted by Billie | July 20, 2014, 7:38 pm
    • Hi Billie
      Thanks for the comment and apologies for the slow response.
      A good idea to think of switching to the diet, from what I learnt in Australia and what I read in the OMS Forum it is definitely the way to go.
      Best of luck whatever you do
      Mind yourself
      Nicola

      Posted by msinthecity | July 23, 2014, 12:04 pm
  2. I love this Nicola. The positivity is wonderful. Continued improvements with those legs and lots of love x

    Posted by msrecoveryblog | July 16, 2014, 5:53 pm
  3. Hi Nicola, Just saw your video on youtube and was so inspired. You probably won’t remember me but I worked in OH in hp around the time of your diagnosis. You always impressed me with your courage and strength of character despite all the challenges you faced back then. I’m delighted to see you thriving and striving for continued good health and will be following this great blog. Best wishes, Lynda Leech

    Posted by Lynda Leech | July 16, 2014, 11:26 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A year on from OMS day, Brighton, Jul 13 | msrecoveryblog - July 16, 2014

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

