you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Family & Friends, Happiness, Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis

Happy Holidays


It is my favourite time of the year, there is nothing better than getting away.. I love my bit of sun 🙂

Travelling with MS used to take away from things as my symptoms mean that it is hard for me to walk long distances or stand queuing..

A couple of years ago, I was travelling to France for my sisters hen, my family (mum and sisters) noticed how hard getting around was for me and wanted to help, they got me wheelchair assistance, I was very reluctant to get in. I really couldn’t handle people looking at me, pitying me, I had been a world kickboxing champion for God’s sake. It was so sole destroying. I ended up using the assistance but not without tears rolling down my face.

A few years later, I decided to change my attitude, maybe I could use this as something positive. Travelling
And boy am I so much happier.
I now book the assistance when I book the flight, it makes things so much easier, I get to the airport and go straight to the wheelchair desk, they then wheel me to check in, then through security right on into Duty free. It is so easy and my legs are so much better than I can even shop, and as all of my friends will tell you I love to shop.

This year I was in Australia, Portugal and Canada. It was all very stress-free travelling, I would recommend getting the assistance, it really makes travelling better and it does not mean that you will never walk again (that used to be my fear getting into one). It means you get to your destination with a smile on your face and plenty of energy.

Happy travelling….

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

