you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Family & Friends, Happiness, Interesting Facts and Sayings :-), Mind Body Spirit, Multiple Sclerosis, Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis

It is not always easy.. Day 150


When I decided to start doing a blog on my life experiences, one of my objectives was to make it honest and balanced. MS is a disease that has many ups and downs, so I think it is only right, that these ups and downs should be recorded..
Christmas 2013
Last Saturday, Kieran and I decided to put up the Christmas tree. I was so excited. I love Christmas and everything that goes with it.. The shopping, the eating, the family and friends catch up time, the smiles on my niece and nephews faces, the presents.. The list goes on..

So on Sat, I started the prep work with lots of enthusiasm, I cleaned the kitchen and bathroom and then started on the tree. So unfolded branches and hung lights, hung some decorations, it was then that my legs stopped working properly, I just had no strength, I couldn’t get myself up from the floor onto the couch, it was so frustrating.. I struggled for a while, Kieran had gone grocery shopping so I was on my own. After a few attempts, I managed to get myself up and sitting on the couch but I was so upset, all the effort that I am making with EVERYTHING and sometimes it feels like none of it is working.

Kieran then arrived back.. I told him that he deserved better than me, that I was useless, he didn’t like this at all and asked me to swear never to say it again. I did. It is so great that he loves me for me and that he knows that I am doing everything to restore my health – I just needed to be reminded, to be re set.. Healing is not instant, it just takes time.

Looking back now, 4 days later, I feel ok again. I feel motivated and positive. I also remembered that this time of the year is never good when you have MS, all symptoms seem to flare up. Cold and damp weather always seem to make things appear worse.

So now it is time to listen to my own advise, be gentle on yourself and trust.. Time passes and thankfully things change..

Hope you are being gentle on you..
Be gentle

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

