you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Diet, Foot Drop, MS Symptoms, Multiple Sclerosis, Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis

My Recovery Diary – Day 11


Recovery the start
It is amazing how much HOPE gives you. It lifts your spirit and the dark cloud of what may happen moves. Suddenly you feel lighter and happier and excited about the future.

So that is me now 🙂 I finally feel that recovery is in sight. I always knew that I would recover but now it seems that it is all coming together.

Yesterday I was very happy to discover that my walking has improved. I feel like I am not swinging my leg, (the one with the dropped foot), it looks to me like I am lifting my foot. This is such good news. OK when I am tired I start to drag it again but it is a start.

Currently My Symptoms are:
Overactive bladder – I believe this is caused by an infection so I am seeing my GP on Fri
Bad back – I find it difficult to straighten up, when going from sitting to standing, back seems very stiff – but I am confident that improvenments in my foot will have a knock on affect on my back
Weak left leg – Leg with foot drop
Walking – difficult when back and leg are acting up
Standing – difficult when standing for period of time, how long depends on the day and how tired I am

Today I am also feeling really tired but I am unsure if it is an MS thing or because I left quite a gap between breakfast and lunch 🙂 The OMS diet is so healthy that you really need to eat regularly so I think my poor planning is the culprit.

I believe that following the OMS program religiously is helping. It may seem like a difficult diet but the rewards are TOO GREAT to warrant eating the wrong food. I am going to get Kieran to video me walking once per month at the same time so that we can monitor my improvements.

If you are also doing it, please keep me update on your Progress..

Also if you are really missing your cookies, these are particularally good. I haven’t found the almond paste, so I use almond flakes and Rice or Soya milk to bind. Enjoy…

Bakery – Crunchy Oat and Almond Biscuits

Ingredients:
1 cup brown rice flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp bicarb of soda
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup almond paste
1 mashed banana
1 ½ Tbsp maple syrup
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 ½-2 tsp honey

Directions:
Line your baking tray with greaseproof paper and preheat the oven to 180C/350F.

Mix in all the wet ingredients.

Sieve all the dry ingredients together into a separate bowl, then stir in the oats.

Blend in the wet ingredients slowly until you’ve got a sticky mass.

Take out spoonfuls and flatten them onto the paper.

Bake for 20 mins on 180-200 C They’re done as soon as they’re golden around the edge.

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

8 thoughts on “My Recovery Diary – Day 11

  1. Hi there, at last I’ve found someone with identical symptoms as me!! So sorry to read about your recent flare up but your recovery is so positive! Just be patient, and it will come 🙂

    I’m currently being investigated for ms but my last episode was exactly what you have described here and it took me 3 months to recover.

    Good luck and chin up.

    Xx

    Posted by Jenny | October 30, 2013, 7:17 pm
  2. Hi Nic! I am SO excited for you that things are looking up. Go on with your bad self!

    (As an aside, I wrote you a note months ago and I was worried that maybe it didn’t go through because I couldn’t mind any record of it. Never mind that though. It is good to hear you are well!)

    Posted by stitchlich | July 18, 2013, 12:43 pm
    • Hi Rachel
      So lovely to hear from you. I just checked back on comments and you did send me something a few months ago that I think at the time I didn’t get, I wonder why?
      Thanks for the encouraging words and reading your last blog, it sounds like you are doing great, so happy for you.
      I am so inspired with OMS. If you are looking for something new to read, try their new book – Recovering from MS. It has 12 people like us who recover, very inspirational, I think that I cried at the end of each story.
      I hope that things are still great for you.
      Mind yourself
      Nicola

      Posted by msinthecity | July 18, 2013, 6:37 pm
  3. Proud of you, your mum would be over the moon!

    Posted by Andrea | July 17, 2013, 3:42 pm

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

