you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Diet, Fats, Happiness, Image, Mind Body Spirit, Multiple Sclerosis, Swank Diet, Weight

Guilt.. Feeling guilty because of food


ChickenSunday afternoon and I am re reading a chapter from Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis – the Mind Body Connection.

Suddenly it all makes a little more sense.. I try very hard to follow the OMS/Swank Diet 100% but then occasionally I slip. I go to a dinner party and have something that I shouldn’t be eating.. So enjoyable but THEN comes the guilt, I feel so weak, I feel like I don’t love myself, I feel like I am sabotaging my recovery.. I put myself through hell..

I have been on the diet for 8 years now, some really good times and some not so good.. Because I am on it and am pretty good most of the time, I expect to be better, to fully recover but now I understand that despite all the hard work, until ALL of the emotional stuff from my past is dealt with, control is all I am going to get. Full recovery is only possible when the powerful subconscious mind is freed up, conflicts and suppressed anger /grief need to be worked through. The conscious mind does not have the power to heal us..

Recently I have been having a lot of Bio Energy and Reiki, they are making me more emotional (poor Kieran) and bringing lots of stuff up, I am liable to burst into tears at any time BUT I think they are working, I could finally be breaking into repressed anger (about lots of things) and the grief of my mother’s death.

For me all this emotion is not helping my diet, I have always used food as a crutch when I am emotional.

So now I think it is time to do my best. To let the emotions flow, to be gentle with me and see what happens..

Dr Jelinek’s sense of people with MS is that they are strong-willed, fiercely independent and prefer not to accept help from anybody. He has seen a pattern too where this is often in reaction to having had difficult conflicting emotions in childhood, often resulting in suppressing anger about loved ones who have caused some injury or been unjust, and turning that anger inward instead.. The metaphor of the body turning on itself is pretty apt.

Do you have any stuff that needs to be dealt with?

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Guilt.. Feeling guilty because of food

  1. Yes, and I have. Some were family issues, the rest was suppressed grief and anger at having MS. It all came flooding out on the retreat – such a healing experience. I talk about it in my story in George Jelinek’s new book Recovering from Multiple Sclerosis.

    Posted by Wendy | May 23, 2013, 5:40 am
    • It is always great to know that it is not only me and that someone got through it.. Well done you.. I can’t wait to read the new book. I am attending the OMS open day in brighton and I can’t wait.

      Posted by msinthecity | May 23, 2013, 8:36 am

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

