you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Diet, Family & Friends, Happiness, Image, Multiple Sclerosis, Self Acceptance

So I have let things slip for a while…


Birthday girl 2013April- my birthday month

I have to apologise for being a bit inactive. It has been a mad number of months and my priorities changed for a little while. I started the year doing another change to my diet, I started following the MS diet for Women promoted by Kim, I tailored it for me to involve giving up Gluten and Sugar as well as the other restrictions that are on the OMS recovery program . Initially I was great but as I believe you find what works for you, I lost a bit too much weight and wasn’t prepared enough. I know realise that this is the key if I want it to work. I am still trying..

In March, I got all excited as I was heading to Lanzarote for a birthday holiday, all of my sisters and their families where going so I couldn’t wait. For me there is nothing better than basking in sunshine, surrounded by the people that you love. Then things went a little haywire, my boyfriend got sick, it was scary. The Doctor said that it was viral hepatitis and that he would have to forgo the trip. I was so upset. Thankfully he was told that it wasn’t hepatitis and that he could go, it was a virus. We were all so relieved but things were to take another turn. Kieran spent our first day in Lanzarote in bed, we had this beautiful sunshine outside and all he could do was sleep. The following day was no better so we convinced him to go to hospital and thank God that we did. He was admitted and diagnosed with an appendix mass, he didn’t need surgery but the infection was so bad that he needed IV antibiotics. To make a long story short, we spent the holiday in hospital only to go home and spend the next week in hospital in Ireland. We now know that he had a very severe infection that had spread throughout his bowels and that he is very lucky to be alive. Thankfully is getting stronger everyday.

So the last 6 weeks have been very stressful. I haven’t followed my diet religiously, I haven’t done my exercise – things have been pretty awful. My back has been very stiff and sore. The only highlight was my birthday party, it was a little over a week ago and a great night. Some very important people to me made an effort to be there, and it was a fabulous, fun night. Kieran had been released from hospital and was able to make it. The picture above was taken in Dylan Bradshaw after I had had my makeup and hair done in preparation for the big night.. I will do a fun post when I get the balance of the pictures..

So for me what this post shows it that sometimes life doesn’t work out as planned and you need to mind yourself, especially if you have something like MS, it may not be easy at the time and you may slip from your routine but you have to be gentle on yourself and realise that things will pass and life will go back to normal.. I am now trying very hard to get back on track.. Hopefully the back will settle down soon..

Thanks for reading..

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

10 thoughts on “So I have let things slip for a while…

  1. Hi Nicole. I just found your site and will be following your posts (through Google). I just wanted to comment and let you know that you are right. It’s okay to slip up from your routine. Life happened and that’s okay. So sorry to hear that things haven’t been going to good for you. If you don’t mind, what kind of diet are you on?

    Posted by Ila from HeHasMS.com | May 9, 2013, 11:20 am
    • Hi
      Thanks for following me. I will take a look at and start following yours..
      I am on the Swank Diet ie no red meat, no dairy, no high saturated fat foods, no processed foods. Where I have slipped recently is having some low fat yoghurts, some plain biscuits or cake around my birthday. I do it because sometimes I just want something nice to eat but it bothers me because I feel that I should be stronger, other people with MS appear to be, I know all the information but as my boyfriend says I am only human.
      For the past couple of months I have had back trouble and it is getting me down, so then I feel more guilty about breaking the diet, in case the back issue is caused by MS progression, which I dont know. The diet appears to be working for me as my main symptom for years has been a dropped foot which hasnt changed but it hasnt healed and I really believe that the body with the right environment and tools can heal itself, so I am going to take a read of Terry Wahls book and see what she recommends. Mind yourself and himself xx
      Nicola

      Posted by msinthecity | May 9, 2013, 11:36 am
      • Nicola 🙂 I realize I misspelled your name in my original comment, sorry about that.

        Swank diet… Ok, gotcha! I know about that one. I’m always curious about what others do to manage their ms. Certain food (well most food actually) does aggravate his symptoms too.

        Marcus used to have the “drop foot” all the time…. Regular massage in the hip area as well as exercise has it almost fixed. He still gets it when he is overly tired and fatigued (more than his everyday fatigue) but massage helped him. There is a post on my site about how to do that it’s on hip pain, but it is the main massage “focus area” that Marcus gets done. You could have your bf give u the massage.

        Posted by Ila from hehasms | May 9, 2013, 3:50 pm
      • Hi Ila
        Oh no issue about my name.. I hope I have yours spelt right 🙂

        Swank Diet + I try and maintain the Overcoming MS recommendations.

        Thanks for the comment on the drop foot, it really is great when you get something that has worked for someone else and make work for you, so thanks. Will have a look for the post.

        He has MS.com – I did have a quick look and I really like your blog.

        Any comments on mine (layout, content etc) would be greatfully received..

        Thanks again and I hope you are having a great day!
        N

        Posted by msinthecity | May 9, 2013, 4:04 pm
      • My name is spelled ila… Thank you 🙂 I like your website too. I’m following u now lol I only follow blogs I find worth my time to read. I have 2 small kiddos so my Internet time is limited. I will read more of your content when I get some time (when kids are asleep lol).

        No problem about the drop foot tip… I would post the direct URL to that post, but I’m on my cellphone and its kinda hard to do. You can find it if you look on the left side bar under “massage therapy” you will see “massage Mondays” it’s in there. It’s the hip pain post.

        Posted by Ila from hehasms | May 9, 2013, 8:51 pm
      • For some reason I am only seeing your reply now. I must have missed some stuff on word press..
        Thanks for the info on the dropped foot

        Posted by msinthecity | November 26, 2014, 9:56 am
  2. Hi Nicola, yes, you need to give yourself a break sometimes when things are tough and don’t forget even when things are tough, the people who care will always be around!

    Posted by Anonymous | April 29, 2013, 6:55 pm
  3. dear Nic.
    what is it with your men and hospitals. Great to hear he’s on the mend. sorry i never got to see you before i went back, didn’t see your message until i was traveling.
    Pete.

    Posted by Anonymous | April 27, 2013, 6:57 pm
  4. Well done for picking yourself up.. Your a fighter. Have you read Dr Terry Wahls book, minding my mitochondria – for me the combination of her dietary regime & exercise has helped me, greatly.

    Hugs & smiles

    Gerard Murphy

    Posted by Anonymous | April 25, 2013, 12:30 pm

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

