you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Happiness, Mind Body Spirit, MS Symptoms, Swank Diet

So How Was It??


Me at WorkI don’t know why I was so scared, I ended up having so much fun 🙂

Kieran and I headed to Dundalk, not too far away but the drive up felt like forever. I had already done a dry run on my speech so I used the drive time to relax which worked until we pulled into the drive way of the hotel, now it was real and my stomach started turning again.  The feeling reminded me of something I never thought I would feel again, the same nerves that normally proceeded a world champion kickboxing final fight.. It was therefore quite comforting despite the sickness..

Being so nervous made my MS symptoms worse in particular my walking, so it was great having my man with me, to hold my hand and make me brave. 

So it kicked off and right from the first world, I felt great.  All the nerves disappeared and I could feel my normal self-confidence returning, it was My Story so how could I say something wrong.  I was truthful and honest, I really wanted to audience to appreciate what it like to have Multiple Sclerosis.  To understand the ups and downs, the challenges that someone may face, I explained that sometimes the symptom may not be visible as in the majority of cases people with MS look healthy.  I told them about my MS bibles, My treatments and the lifestyle changes that I have made to enable me to live a normal life, to keep my independence.  I hoped that they could pass on the information to anyone who might benefit from it.

Kieran told me afterwards that I had the audience really engaged, nobody was falling asleep 🙂 

I am so glad that I did and I hope to do it again sometime.

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

5 thoughts on “So How Was It??

  1. Hi Nic! I am a fellow female “MSer”, and I want you to know that I absolutely love your blog. There is lots of good information, and your openess about your experience is awesome. Sharing is powerful.
    Your Diagnosis & Treatment section has inspired me to do a write up of my own current treatments.

    Also, the fringe you are rocking in the above picture is hot and I am now ready to get some the next time I see my hairstylist. Rock on, Nic!

    Posted by stitchlich | February 13, 2013, 12:14 am
    • Hi Stitchlich
      So lovely to get your comment. It really encourages me when I get such open fabulous feedback.
      I have been a little slack lately but hope to get back on doing regular updates soon. I have started a gluten free, sugarfree diet, it is hard and I have fallen off the wagon a few times but we will see if it helps.
      I will check out your blog over the next few days. Love your stich icon, it is fun 🙂
      Anyway I hope you are doing great.
      Keep in touch
      Nicola
      PS the fringe is gone but may get it back, Dad says it makes me look younger LOL

      Posted by msinthecity | February 13, 2013, 10:45 am
      • Hi Nic!

        I have been gluten free for the last year. Interestingly enough it didn’t seem to make any changes as far as my stomach goes, but I did stop waking up congested every morning. No clue what the connection might be there, but I have heard of other people experiencing the same change.

        Going sugar-free is HARD. Falling off the wagon is to be expected when making such a drastic change. It’s awesome you are even trying it!

        Are you cutting out just refined sugar, or fruits as well? Earlier this month I went one week with next to no sugar and no starch. GOODNESS, it was difficult! I felt great at the end of it, but decided I really needed to eat an apple I had on the kitchen counter before it got over-ripe… 🙂

        I am hoping to get back to regular updates myself. Maybe I just need to designate a “blog day” where I churn something out. Here’s hoping we both get back in the swing of things – I am looking forward to hearing more from you!

        Later!

        Rachel

        P.S. You ROCKED that fringe

        Posted by stitchlich | February 19, 2013, 2:59 am
      • Hi Rachel,
        I hope your good and having a great day. Interesting what you say about the gluten, I haven’t seen any major benefits, I am bread and pasta free, but my Reiki woman said that I have more energy and I trust her, I have been going for approx 7 yrs..
        I could probably be even more focused on it, are you doing it to extreme?
        Sugar free is really hard, especially when you are like me and have a sweet tooth.. I am still having fruit and maple syrup in my porridge.. Going to try harder..
        Like you I hope to start weekly blogs 🙂 I used to be so good
        Oh yeah, do you suffer with spasticity? My back has been at me for a couple of weeks and I am very stiff, so think I may be having a flair up.. If so what do you take?
        Hope to talk soon
        Nicola

        Posted by msinthecity | February 20, 2013, 12:07 pm
      • Hi Nic!

        I take gluten avoidance to the extreme, because I do much better without it. My allergist suspected I might be intolerant to it, and had me do an elimination diet after I refused to let him take a colon biopsy. The reaction I had to a small piece of baguette after three weeks of no gluten was enough to turn me away from the stuff forever! (Won’t go into the details here. But it was BAD, girl!)

        I wish there was a Reiki practitioner in my area! What do the treatments feel like? I would love to try it someday.

        My hands can get spastic when I am fatigued. It makes writing impossible and things just fly right out of my hands! I just try to relax as much as possible and pop some herbal supplements. I am not on any of the CRAB drugs or LDN at this point. My supplement regimen was inspired and based off of this post: http://www.wheelchairkamikaze.com/2012/07/adventures-outside-box-attempting.html

        Are the back problems a new symptom or an aggravation of an old problem? The rule of thumb my doctors say is that unless it is a completely new symptom, don’t worry about it. I hope that isn’t your case right now. 😦

        When I feel like I am getting too close to risking a new flare (when I am super stressed or ill), I try to get a good night of sleep, take it easy by doing mindless things like knitting or listening to podcasts and I try to eat and drink as many anti-inflammatory things as possible. I used to take my herbal supplements every day as a precaution, but this last month I have scaled it back to supplementing strategically so that it is all more effective when I do need it! (Can’t have the body getting too used to everything!) I stopped taking the birth control pill at the beginning of the month, because there are too many negative effects it is purported to have (and I have finally reached a point in my life where pregnancy isn’t so bad of an idea any more :)) I noticed I definitely feel more “MS-y” around that time of the month now that my hormones are no longer manipulated. I suspect the supplements would come in real handy at these times.

        Please let me know if you find anything out about your back trouble. Hopefully by the time you read this, it will all be resolved.

        Be well, my dear!

        Rachel

        Posted by stitchlich | February 24, 2013, 3:23 am

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

