you're reading...
Family & Friends, Happiness, Image, Mind Body Spirit, Self Acceptance, Weight

A new year, a new you??


NYE

NYE

Over Christmas I was very disturbed by the number of beautiful ladies that are my friends who are insecure about their weight.  It was all, “I want to lose 10 lbs” or “I am going on a diet in Jan” or “I shouldnt be eating this”…  So hard to listen to because all I could see was the amazing person that shines through the healthy body.  These women are smart, intelligent, beautiful women, who hold down successful jobs or raise healthy kids.  They are so clever, fun and thoughtful in my eyes.

All this talk got me thinking, why is it so hard to accept ourselves, why are we constantly trying to change ourselves to fit into a Hollywood stereotype or to please a man?  Men who in my experience prefer flesh to a bag of bones.  A curvy woman, a beautiful sexy curvy woman. 

Unfortunately, I wasnt always aware of life unfocused by weight or diets, It is hard to believe that for so long, I was exactly as my friends.  I thought that if I could just lose another x lbs, I would be sexy and beautiful and that would equal the perfect life.  It has taken me a long time to stop the negative thought patterns, to see my beautiful body in the mirror and not the lumpy bits that I want to change.  To see myself collectively and not a collection of small parts that I either love or despise, surely this should not be the case. 

To have the happy healthy life that you crave, it is not diet that you have to start with, it is you, all of you, mind, body, spirit and soul.  You need to look at and nurture your self-worth and self-esteem without these no diet in the world or magic number on the scales is going to make you feel better.  In 2012, I got to my target weight, the magic number that I thought would answer all my problems but low and behold it doesn’t.  I don’t feel any different.  It should be noted that I got their unconsciously, I wasnt on a diet or restricting myself in any way.

So for 2012, maybe instead of focusing on what you eat, you should focus on loving yourself unconditionally, I think that this would bring about greater rewards..

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

