you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Family & Friends, Foot Drop, Mind Body Spirit, MS Symptoms, Multiple Sclerosis

Christmas Party 2012


Like most woman out there the work christmas party is one event that I look forward too.  Seeing everyone done up to the 9’s and letting their hair down is the perfect way to end a long and sometimes stressful year.

We had ours last Thursday, the 13th Dec.  It was held in Dublin City Centre.  After donning the little black dress and getting the hair blow dryed I headed into the venue.  I felt that I was looking pretty good, so I began to really looking forward to good food, great company and dancing, plenty of dancing…

I suppose that is where it started to go wrong.  The first delay was getting petrol, I figured that I may leave some people home so needed to make sure that I filled up the tank..The next was the traffic it was a nightmare, so busy, it was as if everyone had their party on the same night.  Then it was getting to the venue, I knew where it was but with one way streets and no right turn / no straight ahead signs, I felt like I would never get there.  Eventually after driving around for 30 mins, I got to the street where the venue was.  This is when the fun started even more, they had no parking I felt so frustrated.. 

 All the effort to get close and no parking.   As we are all very aware, I can’t walk far. I have a dropped foot and I  could easily take a tumble.  So I prayed and I prayed while doing loops through the streets around the hotel.  On my 3rd loop I got lucky, a space became available that was very close to the hotel.  It was such a relief but the stress of trying to get to the party had taken its toll, I parked and I burst into tears.  Sometimes having MS is so stressful, everyone else was wondering what train they should get into town whereas I knew that I had to get parking close or it would have been an issue.    No matter how much you try to put your disability on the back seat of your life, it is constantly there and constantly reminding you, that you need to plan, you need to organise, you need to know all the facts so that you can make the right choices and live the fullest life you can..

Sometimes I see and hear people moaning about nothing, it is frustrating, they need to appreciate all the they have.  If you are in your full health, you need to be very thankful because you never know when it may be taken away from you.  As my father would say, Your Health is Your Wealth…

After all the commotion of getting to the party, it was a fab night 🙂  Very very enjoyable…

 

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

