you're reading...
Family & Friends, Happiness, Mind Body Spirit, Self Acceptance

Number One in the World…


Watching Katie Taylor box for Ireland and win an Olympic Gold Medal, has brought it all back to me, my years of training and competition…  I feel so proud of her and so emotional, 20 years ago I had my first little taste of how she must feel, it was one of the proudest moments of my life.

I started martial arts in 1988, actually you could say that I fell into it, a friend from school was doing it and I went along to try it, I had no expectations and little did I know that it was going to take over my life.  I think what I feel in love with first, was the adrenaline rush, I went from being a normal 14 year old girl to one that couldn’t wait to get my adrenaline fix, it also had the added benefit of toning me up and increasing my self confidence.

In 1990, I made the Irish Kickboxing team and got to travel to Venice Italy and Birmingham UK representing my country.  There is nothing that makes you feel  prouder.  You put on the Irish team track suit and feel exceptional, being part of something so much bigger..

In Sept 1991, my best friends Mum Nuala, let Fiona and I know about a course being run in our local parish centre, it was called ‘Investment for Excellence’, something that we didn’t know much about but would turn out to be on of the most influencing courses that I have ever attended.  It detailed a very successful soccer team in the US where its founder Lou Tice had taken the principles that he applied to the team and adapted them to real life.  It was all about developing your self-esteem, your self-worth, using motivational and visualisation skills to achieve that you wanted, be that in sport or in work or in any aspect of your personal life.

In the Ring, at the IAKSA world championships

It turned me into an Irish Fighter with unshakeable believe and it gave me the skills needed to be number one in my sport..

So in November 1991, I won my first World Title for Ireland, it was a shock as I didn’t really expect to win it, I knew it was possible but until you actually get there, it is something that you aspire too.  I can honestly say that for the first couple of days, I felt numb, I could believe that I had done it.  My coach, said to me that my life would never be the same, I was no longer Nicola Corbett, I was Nicola Corbett, the  World Kickboxing Champion…  It felt great.

World Kickboxing Wako Gold Medal, Italy 99

A little over 12 years later and I had one over 30 medals, 7 World titles, numerous (I need to count them :-)) European titles and silver and bronze World/European medals.

Sometimes it all seems so long ago, winning World and European titles, it is very different from the world that I live in today.  I miss it a lot, I miss being fit and being in great physical shape, being the best at something..

So now I have a new goal, to live a full life while working through  the challenges of Multiple Sclerosis, to try to help someone out there, to provide a listening ear, to be the best I can be…  Maybe I can use my dedication and determination skills in this other way..

So to summarise, I think that Katie is the best and I am so proud of her, it is some achiement and she is a very worthy winner!!

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Number One in the World…

    • Hi Kieran
      I thought that I had replied to you but I am not sure. They have changed how WP looks from an Admin side and I think I have missed stuff.
      I would love to meet Katie some time she comes across as a wonderful young woman.

      Posted by msinthecity | November 26, 2014, 10:08 am
  1. had the pleasure to meet Katie a few times, wonderful person and athlete http://www.limerickcombatgym.com

    Posted by kieranhonan1 | August 9, 2014, 10:59 am

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

