you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Family & Friends, Happiness, Mind Body Spirit, Multiple Sclerosis, Self Acceptance

Acknowledging a Fear, is it self protection or self avoidance…


As a single thirtysomething, one of my greatest desires is to find my other half.  I did try to force it, using on-line dating but this was rough on my heart, constantly putting myself out there and getting rejected for lots of different reasons (incl the MS), so I listened to friends who said to let it go and see what happens….  And then it happened 🙂

So now that the universe has provided for me, suddenly I feel scared, some of my own personal fears have become more apparent.  They are like the body hidden under winter clothes that discovers the hot summers day.  The new situation brings them to the surface and no matter how much I try to push them back down, they reappear and suddenly I realise that I need to deal with them.

On Sun evening when I got home, I was watching Private Practice where Addison has to bury her mother.  It was a very heartfelt episode and brought up all the feelings about losing my Mum and how important love and family really are.  It is what I really want so why am I looking for reasons not to let someone in?

I am afraid, (if you look deep enough I am really afraid), I have spent years building up the wall around my heart to protect myself (a direct result from my first major relationship) and really don’t know how to knock it down.  I have made myself self-sufficient, I don’t need anyone. 
I have also made myself numb (when I was younger it was better to be numb than feel all the hurt and pain), God in some ways I am so messed up.

So now I am trying.  I don’t want to be on my own for the rest of my life, I have to keep trying, to take down the wall, one brick at a time and trust that whatever is meant to be will be…

Self… The work is never-ending

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Acknowledging a Fear, is it self protection or self avoidance…

  1. Good Luck. Enjoy. Glad for you. My husband is the best thing that ever happened to me. Wish you the same.

    Posted by Anonymous | June 28, 2012, 8:00 pm
  2. Acknowledging a fear is the first step to being pro-active about your fears, see it as realizing that yes, there are walls, but that I am willing to take them down step by step… for the right person. Give yourself time Nic and don’t let anyone push into feelings you’re not yet feeling or situations where you feel simply uncomfortable. If the right person is by your side, he’ll accept that you may need some more time but he’ll gladly do that if he’s really into you.

    And hey… been there, done that myself. I keep on saying that I don’t need anyone myself but there is the longing for a great guy either way. Our hearts… always in need for a cuddle and some insight… Take care and remember, if he’s right for you, he’ll stick by you.

    Posted by Willeke | June 28, 2012, 6:52 pm

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

