you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Family & Friends, Multiple Sclerosis

Bank Holiday Monday….


I just love bank holidays.  I love knowing that I have an extra day off and can spend it anyway I choose. 

So today has been a productive day so far.  I did some Reiki on myself this morning, followed by a late breakie.  Then I decided to tackle the ironing, did you ever notice how much it grows 🙂  I then decided that I would try to give my deck a bit a sweep with a hard brush and pull some weeds. 

So now it is all done, I am delighted at my accomplishments but a little bit frustrated with my health.  It is always my legs, they limit me (thankfully they are not progressing) they don’t like standing or pressure on them for a long time.  So by the end of the weeding I was using the wall for support at times.  Why am I saying this, I suppose to make people more aware of how MS can affect me in my normal life.  I may have slowed down my progression but I still have to learn to deal with the residual symptoms.  What this means for me is that I am sitting down now, on the laptop or watching telly or reading, you just have to listen to your body, do so much and then take a break.  Thankfully the break is all I need, a rest is like a re-boot to my legs..  The will soon be back working again..

Do you have any tricks or ways to manage your MS?  How do you cope with the damage that has already been done?

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Bank Holiday Monday….

  1. Hello There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I will certainly comeback.

    Posted by Robert | June 7, 2012, 8:45 pm
  2. I have personally tried Biomagnetic Pair Therapy (6 sessions) All I can say is wow :)) my vision has been restored to what it was before I got diagnosed with RR MS. Joint pain and muscles spasms are non existent. Not many people know about this type of alternative healing. Have you ever tried it or know anyone that has? I would be very interested to see if they got good results like mine.

    Posted by Anonymous | June 5, 2012, 10:47 am
  3. Hi Nic! Lovin ur blog! I have a 10 month old baby boy and all through my pregnancy and for a full 6 months after the birth I experienced full remission of my symptoms. Pretty much the week I fit back into my pre pregnancy jeans was when I started to get very sick again. It was so depressing, like getting ur life back and then having it ripped away again. But 2 and half months ago I started Tui Chinese healing massage and acupuncture , twice a week and I’m feeling the best I felt since before I got sick. I think for people like us, when ur got nothing to lose and everything to gain, so it’s worth a try!! It’s fantastic to feel kind of normal again and be able to enjoy life and my beautiful baby. Best wishes, Ash 🙂

    Posted by Aisling Gleeson | June 4, 2012, 11:51 pm
    • Hi Ash
      Lovely to hear from you and get feedback. Thanks.
      I have done acupuncture but not that massage, will look into it…
      Congrats on the little fellow too. My sister had her 2nd child a boy on Fri so exciting, first boy in our family of girls.
      Mind yourself xx

      Posted by msinthecity | June 4, 2012, 11:56 pm

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

