you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Family & Friends, Mind Body Spirit, Multiple Sclerosis

Family Matters


So here I am in Offaly, sitting in my aunties house around a warm fire… 🙂 What a day, my sister and I travelled down this afternoon.

My aunt does a mass every May bank holiday weekend, it is an anniversary mass for my aunty Phil (her sister) who died 23 years ago at the young age of 35, she left 4 young children. It is also for my Mum, 2 sisters remembered together..

I used to find that really hard to understand, why young people are taken from their families. What’s that about? I now believe that their is a reason for everything.

It is really hard that Mum is no longer with us but it has allowed certain things to happen.

My father has become the man that he was always destined to be. He has grown so much and we (his daughters) are so proud of him, love him so much. He is the best father you could ask for, he is kind and generous and really funny, with a positive mental attitude. When I meet people who have a negative attitude, I feel blessed to have been raised in such a warm positive home, one where my father thanked God every morning that he was still alive.

The relationship that we have with Dad has got so much closer. It was always Mum and the girls but now Dad plays an active role in our lives

So what I wonder is, who do you surround yourself with? With any illness the mind is a very powerful tool that needs nothing or no one to drag it down

Are you happy?
Are you peaceful?
Do you need to make changes?

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

