you're reading...
Botox, Daily living with MS, MS Symptoms, MS Therapies, Self Catheterisation

Botox anyone?


A few months after I got MS, I started to experience issues with my bladder. I constantly needed to go to the bathroom and always needed to know where the nearest one was…

It was very difficult, I am a world champion kickboxer and now instead of taking on the world, I was taking on the location of a bathroom

Overtime I learned what was wrong with my bladder. Thankfully I always knew when I needed to go but emptying fully was something that my bladder could no longer do on its own…

It was so depressing because suddenly I had constant kidney infections as the remaining urine was sitting there and becoming more toxic. These infections led to some incontinence, something that really ate me up inside.

Then a number of years ago I discovered things that made my life normal again and lifted the elephant off my shoulders

I was trained on self catheterisation, this was hard to do mentally but it did mean that I could empty my bladder completely. Once I got my head around it, the little green plastic thing changed my life. It is disposable and small like a lipstick, so very discrete.

Suddenly I had a new life 🙂

Then the icing on the cake, I still had the frequent need to go to the bathroom when I discovered Botox. It is a surgical procedure where Botox is injected into your bladder. It reduces the need to go so frequently and it was perfect for me. It stops you going naturally (until it wears off), so you need to use a catheter but I was already using one..

Today I am in hospital for my 4th Botox injection 🙂 and now I can smile about it

I wonder if there will be any botox left over that I could use for my wrinkles, what a thought???

I didn’t really want to write this post as it is so personal and I know some work colleagues read my blog but if someone else is suffering like I did it is worth me being uncomfortable. It could give them some of their life back. A really personal important bit..

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Botox anyone?

  1. Really interesting post! Lovely to find another Irish blogger! I’m Lydia, 30 years old, diagnosed in 2010.
    My blog is http://copingandhopingwithms.blogspot.ie/
    I’m sitting here, in bits from yet another UTI! On more antibiotics and hoping the pain will go away!

    Posted by Lydia | May 12, 2013, 5:48 pm
  2. Hey, saw your video on the HP portal and read your blog! All I can say is, you are a brave woman, Nicola. Admire your courage. Wish you the best in life.

    Posted by Rubal | May 28, 2012, 4:54 am

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

