you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Family & Friends, Image

Looking Good = Feeling Good


I would be very interested in what you think, does Looking Good = Feeling Good????!?!?

I am a firm believer that (for the majority of the time), Looking Good = Feeling Good. I realise that when I make an effort with my appearance I feel better. When I feel better, I am in a better mood and more able to cope with my MS and the little obstacles it throws up on a day-to-day basis. A positive, happy mind really helps keep you feeling sane.

Did you ever have a day when you really didn’t feel good and you met a work colleague or a neighbour and both of them tell you that you are looking great, you can’t believe it, you only got a couple of hours sleep and think they must be lying. You say that you are not looking so great and rebuke the compliment (an Irish Thing… something we will work on later), well the truth is they probably aren’t lying. It is all about the color you are wearing close to your face.

A few years ago pre MS, I trained to be a Color Me Beautiful image consultant. I had always loved clothes and taking care with my appearance was something that I learned from my Mum, she was a very glamorous woman.

Before doing the course, I didn’t realise that there is a little bit of science behind looking good. It is all about complimenting the person. When having a Color Consultation it is about your hair, your eyes and your skin tone and matching them to the colors that look best on you.

So when you look at someone, generally they can be classed as Warm (someone with warm skin, yellow undertone) or Cool (some with cool skin, blue undertone).. or another way of putting it blue veins = cool skin, green veins = warm skin.  Once you know this you can use it to choose the right shade of a top to wear.

Plenty of people say that they can’t wear red lipstick, I disagree it depends on the shade. Red lipstick can be a blue or a yellow-red, again we are back to the hue, so now you can buy the right shade! When you understand what colors suit you, people will be asking what’s your secret, you always look great!

During your MS journey, it is important to balance all the work on yourself, both inside and the outside. Valuing and loving yourself completely is just so important and can bring the peace and acceptance that we all crave and need.

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

