you're reading...
Family & Friends

Our Mums :-) What would we do without them?


My Mum died 4.5 years ago. It was very sudden, she had a brainMother of Nicola who has Multiple Sclerosis haemorrhage and was dead before she hit the floor, as a result we never got to say Goodbye. She was a wonderful woman and mother, who installed lots of great values in my sisters and I, the importance of trust and honesty, treating people with kindness and respect, working hard and self-respect to name a few.

When I got diagnosed with MS, she was the one there holding my hand and doing all she could to make things easier and better for me. She fought for me to get a medical card and God help anyone who tried to cross one of her children, she was the typical Irish mother, very protective but only for our own good.

When you are younger, it is pretty normal to get annoyed with your parents but now that I am older I realise that they are only doing the best they can, what they know from how they were brought up. When I was in my teenage years, I was afraid of my Mum, not that I couldn’t talk to her but that I couldn’t come home pregnant or atrociously drunk, so I choose to do neither. She was the first person that I really knew to die and even today it still seems like she is still here, I don’t think that her death has fully hit me and wonder when it will.

When you lose someone who is such an important person in your life, it leaves a big gap but luckily for me, I have had some fabulous people fill it. My Dad, he is great, he has grown so much since Mum died and has taken on her duties like a fish to water, My Aunty Maura, she is Mum’s older sister and has become in our eyes our second Mum, my friends, Fiona, Sarah and Michele who mother me by cooking for me and offering a bed to sleep in and other advice when requested/needed.

So today’s post is to wish a very Genuine Happy Mothers Day to all of my mothers (you know who you are)!!

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Our Mums :-) What would we do without them?

  1. Nic, when my mum died at the age of 51, your mum stepped into the hollow space I found myself in, held my hand and just listened. She was so special, fiercely proud of her four gorgeous girls and a heart the size of a planet once she let you in! I feel privileged to have had my mum for as long as I did and very grateful to have had your mum on loan too. My mum always used to say our children are like precious gifts from God and we must mind them and cherish them for as long as we have them. I think she was talking about being brave and letting go of the apron strings so that we could make our way in the world. I guess that works both ways. Sometimes the really special ones are needed elsewhere. Love you, Fi.

    Posted by fiona1405 | March 18, 2012, 12:28 am

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

