you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Family & Friends, Multiple Sclerosis

Thank you!! To the girls and my sisters…


You know that it is only when you get diagnosed with a life changing illness that you realise who your true friends and family are.

Some of you may not be able to see or appreciate this yet, as when the diagnosis is new it can take over, which is ok as you need time to grieve and accept things. And that is only normal.

When you feel ready, I think it is important to find out how your loved ones feel, it can be hard for them looking at a you going through such a difficult time, they can feel helpless

In some cases the MS can come from a parent or one of their siblings, the guilt they feel can be enormous, you need to try and neutralise the guilt, after all they say we chose our parents and our crosses. Be clear with them, make them realise it is not their fault.

Last week my sisters and I got together, it was so good, I could be myself and knew that they would accept me whether I needed to rest, go shopping or a shoulder to cry on..

I am v lucky with my friends and family and want to thank them genuinely from the bottom of my heart

– They listen when things are a bit much
– They care and cook for you
– They provide an unlimited support system
– They accept you exactly how you are

MS is like a visitor to your home that never leaves, it can be grand but then the day comes when you need a break, some head space, some physical healing or to talk to someone, that is when your family and friends are worth their weight in gold… .

To summarise, don’t forget to say Thank You, those 2 words can mean a lot…

Photo of me, my sisters and my niece

20120304-174315.jpg

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

