you're reading...
Family & Friends, Mind Body Spirit, Multiple Sclerosis

Lucky me :-)


I hear you asking yourself, how can you think yourself lucky, are you mad? 

And in ways you are right but I believe that changing your attitude about something, changes your perception of it, which leads you to change your feelings about it.  I think that MS came into my life at the right time, it was time for me to listen to my body, really listen and realise what was going on. 

I was really unhappy, I was in a destructive relationship that was not good for my self-worth or self-esteem.  I really thought that I was the second person in the relationship and valued him and his needs and wants, ahead of my own.  I now look back and wonder how that ever happened?  I didn’t have an unhappy childhood but somewhere along the line, I thought that it was OK to be treated without love and respect.  MS coming into my life changed everything.  Suddenly I had to put this illness and my healing/stopping of progression first. 

Overtime I realised that I had to eliminate stress and most of my stress came from this relationship.  It was really hard (and still is sometimes, we are all human) because I loved him and I thought that he loved me, I now realise that it wasn’t a real relationship with real genuine love but that doesn’t mean that it was easy to disentangle myself from him and our life together.

6 years on and a lot of soul-searching, MS has taught me to put myself first, to realise that I am a beautiful, kind person who deserves everything.  It has allowed me to grow as a person, to learn more about me and who I am.  To listen to my body, to give it what it needs whether that is food or sleep or a new handbag 🙂 

They say that when you experience your first MS attack, you should look at all the things that were going on in your life at the time, this can lead to you making changes for the better, valuing and loving yourself more.

I suppose what I am trying to say, it is OK to be selfish.  The only way that you can help yourself and your ‘dis-ease’ is by listening to and investing in yourself.  I believe that dis-ease happens when you aren’t being true to yourself, it can be very hard to admit but it is one of the first steps in your healing. It is a very rewarding journey…

Louse Hays says that when you have an illness, there is only one thing to work on ‘Loving The Self’

Please realise that you can love yourself completely and still be a great person 😉

All comments, feedback all welcome, thanks

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

