you're reading...
Daily living with MS, Diet, Family & Friends, Mind Body Spirit, MS Symptoms, Multiple Sclerosis

Well what is MS? Just been diagnosed and don’t get it?


When I got my diagnosis in May of 2003, I really didn’t know what MS meant, my Mum was with me, I think she got upset but I was very calm.  My Mum’s sister already had it and my Dad’s sister had died from it but for me it meant nothing.  I was completely ignorant to how it was going to change my world..

When I look back now, it was the catalyst to change my world for the better.

What is Multiple Sclerosis?

Lets start at the beginning, we all have a nervous system in our body, it is called the Central Nervous System (CNS) and it is through it that our brain sends messages along the spinal cord, to get us to do things like walk or lift a cup or look at something.  MS can affect all these fundamental actions.  When you have MS, my understanding of what happens is that certain white blood cells pass over the blood brain barrier (this doesn’t happen in someone without MS) in the brain and go on to attack the myelin.  Myelin is the protective coating around your nerves, I always picture it being like the insulation that goes around wires in a lead to a plug.  It is an Autoimmune Disease as the body is attacking itself.  When Myelin gets attacked, it gets inflamed ie swollen, red and sore and it also gets damaged, so you get loss of function.  This demyelination is followed by some repair and scaring.  What does this mean to us, after demyelination or an attack,  messages from the brain can’t travel as well along the nerve/axon and the area damaged loses some function. With every attack, you can lose more function and that is why the illness is usually progressive.  The demyelination results in lesions that are visible on an MRI scan, which is one of the ways the neurologist diagnoses MS.

This all sounds a little glum but from what I have read and what I believe, the key is to stop the disease progressingThis is done by natural (nutrition, sunlight, meditation, exercise, positivity) and if required medical therapies.  This is why I whole heartily recommend the Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis book by George Jelinek.  I have read many books over the years but feel that, this one changed my life, helped me to understand MS more and take steps to slow the progression.

Best of luck x

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Well what is MS? Just been diagnosed and don’t get it?

  1. I found the book so helpful too when I was diagnosed 12 years ago when I was 18. Thinking positively for me has definitely been the key, mainly because it helps keep the stress levels down. I do the Swank diet as strictly as my sanity will allow (I’m certainly not going to beat myself up over the odd chocolate lapse) and have tried to keep in good health. One thing I’m rubbish at is exercise….but then I have a 20 month old daughter (my blog is: http://tantrumsandtingles.blogspot.com), so I suppose that provides quite a lot! Anyway, what I’m trying to say is, I’m pretty sure that doing all of these things has been the reason that my MS has stayed fairly stable over the years. Being newly-diagnosed is so hard, and I think it’s important to not get bogged down on what may be. Take each day as it comes and make the most of everything. Good luck with the dancing! 🙂

    Posted by Chloe (@cmetsrun) | May 28, 2013, 12:14 pm
    • Hi Chloe
      I hope all is good with you. It is great that your MS is stable, mine has been the same except the last couple of months, where my back is acting up. The physio isnt sure what is causing it. I am going to the OMS day in Brighton in July and hope that it will give me another level of focus.. I will have a look at your blog.
      Mind yourself and thanks so much for the feedback 🙂
      Nicola

      Posted by msinthecity | May 28, 2013, 1:35 pm
  2. Very nice! I wish I would have read something like this when diagnosed at 39. I realized in 2010 (diagnosed in 2007) that things, though different, really were at my control and there was help. I enjoy reading your blogs…I look forward to posting also! I am in the midst of trying to earn my black belt now – I’m half way there – and found this to be one of the best things for me.

    Posted by Life With MS | February 24, 2012, 3:27 am
    • Thanks for the compliments 🙂 I will follow your blog. I am a 4th degree black belt and world champion kickboxer, I can no longer do it as MS affects my walking and balance. I am delighted that you are training for yours, what is the style?
      N

      Posted by msinthecity | February 24, 2012, 9:07 am
      • Training Shotokan – I love the forms, the weapons. Sometimes I have to modify, but my Sensei works with me. One of my current goals is to compete next January in the AKA Grand Nationals as an underbelt. Balance issues too….especially any rolls or spinning.

        Posted by MS Won't Run My Life | February 24, 2012, 1:35 pm
      • Well good on you. I have acheived everything I ever wanted in martial arts 🙂 If my leg gets a little stronger, I want to take up dancing, I do power plates and weights now

        Posted by msinthecity | February 24, 2012, 1:48 pm
  3. I have been reading that same book and love it. It’s such a positive outlook, you can’t help but to become hopeful. The who genetic connection of MS worries me in terms of my own children, but having this knowledge is a blessing as they may be able to prevent ever developing it in the first place. My 15 year old is the only one left at home and while he hasn’t fully embraced the cave man diet, he is very aware of the fact that there is not a single processed food, or sugary snack in this house!

    Posted by ms guided journey | February 23, 2012, 12:58 pm
    • I decided to re read it when I started the blog, I just feel it has so much information in it that can give such a hope to anyone, changing the future of their MS. Genetically I have no children and I dont think I will have, I have left it with God, if I was supposed to I will, if I am not then no big deal. I do have 2 aunties, and 3 cousins who have MS. So I have it coming to me from both sides. Fair play to you with the diet, I do follow it religiously but I was unable to give up sugar, I have jellies and hard sweets for treats. I don’t drink, smoke or take drugs so you need something!
      Nicola

      Posted by msinthecity | February 23, 2012, 1:18 pm

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

