you're reading...
Uncategorized

Stress – an MS nightmare


The last few days my body is feeling funny, a little shaky and strange.  Generally this happens to me when I am stressed and something is bothering me subconsciously.  I have learnt that my MS takes no prisoners, so when it happens, I have to figure out what is wrong and then find a way to deal with it. 

NB You can’t do STRESS when you have MS, it has to be eliminated from your life.  You also have to have coping mechanisms for when it does happen (as generally it can’t be avoided 100% of the time).

For me I use 2 main tools
– Counselling
– Reiki

Counselling
It is important when you get diagnosed with something like MS that you talk to someone.  It is a life changing illness and establishing a good relationship with a counsellor is something that has really stood to me.  It means that you have someone independent to talk to, to admit your worries and fears to, to cry with etc things that you don’t want to always burden family and friends with.  
I have been going to the same lady for a number of years and she is a constant source of information and support, she has great ideas and gives me tools to deal with issues.  She was also the first person to ask me about my Spirit, something that I had never thought about before.

Reiki 
It is an ancient form of healing that boosts the immune system and balances the body’s energy chakras (wheels).  I really enjoy it and believe that it has helped me to establish and maintain my inner peace.  Each Chakra is linked to a certain part of the body and a Reiki practitioner can feel when they are blocked, unblocking them is what leads to balance and health in the physical, mental and emotional bodies.   Reiki is generally a hands on treatment, where the practitioner places their hands on your body or over it.

It doesn’t really matter what tools you use, it is finding what works for you that is important, so that you can listen to your body (it is very clever in wanting to tell us things) and find away to get to your optimum health. 

There are plenty of other therapies out there, I have also tried Yoga and Acupuncture. 

 

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

