you're reading...
Uncategorized

My Story…


If someone told me what life had in store for me, I dont know if I would have appreciated it.

My Story starts in April 1973, when I was born in the Coombe,  in Dublin.  I was over a month premature and I weighted a little less than 3lbs.  My Dad said that I was the size of a pint tumbler wrapped in a tea-towel.
I am the eldest of 4 girls, we are all very close and I don’t know what I would do with out them.  They really make me realise that family is the most important thing in life.  I had an ideallic childhood and grew up with great friends and lots of cousins.  My extended family is very big and we are all pretty close, especially when you remember that there are loads of us.

When I was 29 years old, I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis and didn’t know what it meant.  I was getting ready to fight in the Irish National Eliminations for Kickboxing, (I was the current all Ireland and World champion but every year, you had to fight to retain your place), when my left leg started to feel funny, it wasnt particularly painful but it had some numbness and co-ordination issues .

9 years on, and a lot has changed in my life, I can no longer run or walk a long distance but I wouldn’t change a thing.  MS has pushed me in all ways, mentally, physically and emotionally.  I don’t think that I would have inner peace today, if it hadn’t shown up.

For the past year, I have been trying to come up with an avenue to provide information to help people.  I am no expert or doctor but I would really like to be a bright light to young people, to help them realise that the diagnosis isn’t the end of the world and can sometimes come along at the right time so that important stuff gets delt with..

The biggest learning is that you can’t segregate things, if you want to do your best to maintain your health, you need to look at the Holistic Approach…  Caroline Myss makes are very valid point when she says

Your biology is your biography (in other words your physical body, your cells absorb the biography of your life and reflect back to you how that life has been)

You can’t just look at the physical, you need the balance in all aspects of your life.

So my life has been a bit of a roller coaster and maybe I could help you with MS or one of my experienes below 🙂
– Shy child
– World Champion Kickboxer
– 4th degres Bushido Martial Art Instructor
– Lucan Rose
– Image Consultant
– Emotional comfort eater
– MS patient
– Single young female
– Online dater
– MS blogger??

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

One thought on “My Story…

  1. This seems like its going to be a great adventure for all and I look forward to reading more and more of your stories, insights etc

    Posted by msinthecity | January 18, 2012, 8:27 pm

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

