you're reading...
Uncategorized

To fight or not….


A lot of my good friends will ask me, how can you be so positive?  They feel that I have had some bad luck and that they would not be able to cope if they were in my shoes.  I tell them that they don’t really know how they would react until something happens.  I believe that all of us have a lot more going on inside than we realise, it is only when you feel that you don’t have a choice, that you discover that you have options. 
You can lie down and wallow on the issue or you can use it as a catalyst to do something, whether that is to get out of a bad relationship, get fit or challenge yourself mentally.

It can be hard to hear The Body  tell us that it is not happy, we can very easily ignore the persistant pain in your back or the sore throat etc.    Nobody likes to realise that they are wrong, that the dream job or relationship or car or whatever, just isnt cutting it.  The insomnia or weigh gain or mental pingpong is trying to tell you something, trying to get you to listen and realise that you need to face up to somethings to make yourself, happy, peaceful and healthy.

I suppose that I believe all this because it rang true for me.  I pretended to the outside world that I had it all, a successful career, an amazing sporting profile, fabulous friends and family but deep inside I was kidding myself, I wasn’t happy and it wasn’t until the on set of the first MS symptoms that I realised that things weren’t at all like they seemed and even this realisation took a while to understand.

Finally facing up to things is hard but it is the only way that you can get better.  You need to do a little digging but it is very worthwhile.  You need to start with a ME in the middle of the page and then branch out all of the things that make you who you are

  1. Family
  2. Friends
  3. Mind
  4. Body
  5. Spirit

A little digging and an openness to learn is a great thing, it can provide you with so many opportunities..

About msinthecity

I am I suppose many things, a former world champion kickboxer, an image consultant, a planner but fundamentally a happy lady who has multiple sclerosis..

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think? Was the post helpful

a heartbreaking msblog of staggering genius*

Tales of my MScapades and non-MScapades.

It's Only A Bruise

(and it's okay to ask me about it.)

5 boys and a dog

A topnotch WordPress.com site

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

High Heels & Apron Strings Blog

New generation Irish Mammy sharing her musings in love, life & parenting

